Wanted: Sophomores

Wanted: Sophomores

Cuivre River Electric Cooperative seeks high school sophomores in Lincoln, Pike, St. Charles and Warren counties for the Cooperative Youth Conference & Leadership Experience (CYCLE) program.

Local teachers may nominate sophomores to serve as CYCLE delegates, or students may apply independently by completing an application and submitting a narrative about their school activities and community service.

Applications are available at www.cuivre.com, at Cuivre River offices, and at participating high schools. Entries will be accepted March 1 - April 26. A panel of judges will select six delegates to be announced mid-May.

Delegates will receive an all-expense paid trip to Jefferson City July 12-14 to participate. The CYCLE program is conducted by the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives (AMEC).

Students are challenged to learn first-hand what it’s like to be involved in politics, learn about community service, today’s pressing issues, the cooperative form of business and lifetime leadership skills. Highlights include a special session in the Missouri House Chamber at the State Capitol to discuss the process of local, state and national government.

“By engaging youth through CYCLE, we hope to teach important skills to new generations of young citizens who will help their communities and their nation grow,” says Mary Jane Clark, who coordinates Cuivre River’s CYCLE program participation. “Students learn to make good decisions and develop a positive outlook about public service,” adds Clark.

Since 2004, Cuivre River has provided more than 56 students with this youth leadership opportunity through CYCLE.  AMEC has hosted more than 800 students.

For more information about the program visit www.cuivre.com or call (800) 392-3709, ext. 4830.

PHOTO: CYCLE delegates above will pass the torch of leadership to a new group of high school sophomores this spring. Now juniors, they are (L-R) Chloe Momphard, Emily Kurtz, Elizabeth Skelly, Audrey Hahn, Hadley Poole, and Meagan Turner. Applications now available are due April 26.

Page Features: